Premier League Darts: Peter Wright beats Michael van Gerwen in Cardiff

6 February 2018, 21:44

Peter 'Snakebite’ Wright defeated Michael van Gerwen at Premier League Darts on Thursday, in a rematch of last year’s final.

Wright, the world No 2, won 7-5 in Cardiff against the top-ranked Van Gerwen to register his first major televised win over his rival. Elsewhere, Rob Cross' nightmare start to the campaign continued with another defeat but Gary Anderson recovered from his ongoing back injury to record a victory.

Michael van Gerwen 5-7 Peter Wright

Defending champion Van Gerwen had uncharacteristically missed eight doubles by the time he was 4-3 down, giving Wright the initiative.

Van Gerwen did slam home a 170 finish on the bullseye but Wright's doubling was far more accurate than it was when he lost the 2017 final.

Even though Wright did miss double 16 for the match, forcing another leg, he finally sealed a landmark win over the world No 1.

Gerwyn Price 3-7 Gary Anderson

Anderson showed no signs of a lingering back injury when registering his first win of the season against Gerwyn Price.

The Cardiff crowd had welcomed Welshman Price with a great atmosphere but he was always a step behind two-time Premier League champion Anderson, whose biggest checkout was from 104.

Rob Cross 1-7 Simon Whitlock

New world champion Cross suffered a thrashing at the hands of Whitlock in one of the most extraordinary results likely to be produced this season.

Cross has now lost both of his matches in his debut Premier League campaign, having brilliantly won the World Darts Championship in January, and sits rock bottom of the table.

Cross didn't look confident throughout and couldn't keep pace with the experienced Whitlock, who has two wins from two and sits top of the pile.

Raymond van Barneveld 7-5 Mensur Suljovic

Van Barneveld cruised past Suljovic although he was briefly unable to seal the deal.

Barney missed four match darts and allowed Suljovic to break his throw, and move within a leg of his lead, before finally wrapping up the victory to continue his unbeaten start to the season. Earlier, Barney had completed a brilliant 167 checkout on the bullseye.

Michael Smith 7-4 Daryl Gurney

Michael Smith has won both of his opening two matches of the season after beating Daryl Gurney in Thursday's opener.

'Bully Boy' Smith finished bottom of the table in 2016, his only other Premier League season, but has already bettered his record from that debut.

Smith went 3-0 up and, although Gurney took the next three legs, his finishing was superior in the closing stages.

The 2018 Premier League heads to the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle next Thursday with coverage underway from 7pm on Sky Sports Action. Fourteen weeks of tungsten action will continue through to the season's conclusion with the Play-Offs on May 17 at The O2 in London.

Keep up to date with the latest darts news, previews, reports, reaction and expert analysis. Get all the latest at and join in the conversation @SkySportsDarts- don't forget to use #LoveTheDarts